Graduation Set for May 11

San Juan College will hold graduation ceremonies for its students, as well as those who have earned degrees from the University of New Mexico-San Juan Center, beginning at 9 a.m., Saturday, May 11, in the Learning Commons Plaza. Dr. Kim Carpenter, CEO of San Juan County, will give the keynote address. San Juan College president Dr. Toni Pendergrass will preside over the ceremonies.

Graduation will recognize more than 900 graduates of San Juan College in certificates and degree programs, as well as the graduates of the University of New Mexico.

College Board vice chairman John Thompson will award diplomas and certificates to the students. Grand marshals are faculty members Beth Carter, John Hoff, Mike Hattabaugh, Terry Swan, Danielle Sullivan and Ann Hardy.

Gayle Dean, executive director of the San Juan College Foundation, will award the Foundation’s Allison Award for Excellence to an outstanding faculty member. Interim Vice President for Learning Lisa Wilson will recognize this year’s honor students and other students receiving special recognition.

Music will be by the San Juan College Choir under the direction of Linda Edwards, and the San Juan College Big Band under the direction of Dr. Keith Cochrane.

Graduation speakers nominated by faculty and selected by the Graduation Committee to represent their class and speak at this year’s ceremonies include Christina James as student keynote speaker; William Walter David, welcome address; and Kendra Aspaas, closing remarks. James will receive her associate of arts degree in native studies. David will receive his associate degree in general studies. Aspaas is graduating with an associate degree in digital media arts and design.

Following graduation ceremonies, a reception will be held in the courtyard outside the Little Theatre.