Location

West Classroom Complex
(505) 566-3514 or 3276

School Office Hours

Fall & Spring
Mon-Fri: 8:00am-5:00pm
Summer
Mon-Fri: 8:00am-5:00pm

Mary Schumacher-Hoerner — Associate Professor

Mary Schumacher-Hoerner
Department School of Humanities
Office 1844
Hours T 1:00-4:00, TH 1:00-3:00
Phone 505-566-3064
Email schumacherm@sanjuancollege.edu

Degrees Received

  • BA, University of Wyoming, 1989
  • MA, University of New Mexico, 2004

Biography

I have worked with young children and the adults who support them for nearly 20 years and am celebrating my fifth year as a faculty member at San Juan College. I'm married to Rick, a teacher and coach, and I'm the parent of two adolescents, both alumni of our very own SJC Child and Family Development Center. My professional experiences include teaching in the primary grades for public schools, working as an early childhood trainer and consultant, tutoring, developing tutoring programs, and developing parent involvement programs. I love making music, traveling, running, and enjoying fine food with good conversation and friends. Currently, I am working on a Ph.D in Curriculum and Instruction with a specialization in Early Childhood Education through New Mexico State University.

Courses Taught

  • ECED-255 Assessment of Children
  • ECED-275 Curriculum Dev & Impl Age 3 to Grade 3
  • ECED-299 Special Topics

Program Faculty

Allan D. Nass
Allan D. Nass
Interim Dean, Humanities
nassa@sanjuancollege.edu

Eric Bateman
Eric Bateman
Writing Program Administrator
batemane@sanjuancollege.edu

Tony Bennett
Tony Bennett
Photography
bennettt@sanjuancollege.edu


Dr. David Bramhall
Dr. David Bramhall
Professor of History and Philosophy
bramhalld@sanjuancollege.edu

Keith Cochrane, Dr
Keith Cochrane, Dr
Professor of Music
cochranek@sanjuancollege.edu

Andrea Cooper, Dr.
Andrea Cooper, Dr.
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
cooperan@sanjuancollege.edu


Linann Easley
Linann Easley
Director of Henderson Fine Arts and Public Events
easleyl@sanjuancollege.edu

Linda Edwards
Linda Edwards
Associate Professor of Music
edwardsl@sanjuancollege.edu

Donald Ellis
Donald Ellis
Instructor of Arts
ellisdo@sanjuancollege.edu


Andrea Ericksen, Dr.
Andrea Ericksen, Dr.
Professor of Psychology
ericksena@sanjuancollege.edu

William Hatch
William Hatch
Professor of Arts
hatchb@sanjuancollege.edu

Kate Fulton
Kate Fulton
Assistant Professor of Psychology
fultonk@sanjuancollege.edu


William Gray
William Gray
Assistant Professor of English/Writing
grayw@sanjuancollege.edu

Traci Halesvass
Traci Halesvass
Assistant Professor of English/Writing
halesvasst@sanjuancollege.edu

Michael Hattabaugh, Dr.
Michael Hattabaugh, Dr.
Assistant Professor of Communication
hattabaughm@sanjuancollege.edu


Judy Hudson
Judy Hudson
Director of Early Childhood Education
hudsonj@sanjuancollege.edu

Pete Kinnas
Pete Kinnas
Associate Professor of Reading
kinnasp@sanjuancollege.edu

Kris Kraly
Kris Kraly
Assistant Professor of English
kralyk@sanjuancollege.edu


Judith Palier, Dr.
Judith Palier, Dr.
Professor of Political Science
palierj@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Janet L. Peterson
Dr. Janet L. Peterson
Professor of English
petersonj@sanjuancollege.edu

Elizabeth Phelps
Elizabeth Phelps
Reading Instructor
phelpse@sanjuancollege.edu


Terri Reherman
Terri Reherman
Assistant Professor Speech
rehermant@sanjuancollege.edu

J. Kelly Robison
J. Kelly Robison
Professor of History
robisonk@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Ron Salazar
Dr. Ron Salazar
Professor of Psychology
salazarr@sanjuancollege.edu


Mary Schumacher-Hoerner
Mary Schumacher-Hoerner
Associate Professor
schumacherm@sanjuancollege.edu

Danielle K. Sullivan
Danielle K. Sullivan
Assistant Professor of English
sullivand@sanjuancollege.edu

Terry Swan, Dr.
Terry Swan, Dr.
Associate Professor of Sociology
swant@sanjuancollege.edu


Kari Deswood
Kari Deswood
English Instructor
deswoodk@sanjuancollege.edu

Johnathan Fisher
Johnathan Fisher
English Instructor
fisherj@sanjuancollege.edu

Lorraine Manavi
Lorraine Manavi
Assistant Professor Navajo Language
manavil@sanjuancollege.edu


Hannah Rankin
Hannah Rankin
FT Temp English Instructor
rankinh@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Alicia Skipper
Dr. Alicia Skipper
Assistant Professor of English
skippera@sanjuancollege.edu

Michael Thompson
Michael Thompson
ENGL Instructor
thompsonm@sanjuancollege.edu


Chris Strouthopoulos
Chris Strouthopoulos
Assistant Professor: College Success Strategies & Outdoor Leadership Program
strouthc@sanjuancollege.edu

Sherri Cummins-Black
Sherri Cummins-Black
Instructor of College Success Strategies
cumminss@sanjuancollege.edu


For more information, please call Moreen Drake at (505) 566-3276. Or send us an email at drakem@sanjuancollege.edu.