Carl Bickford — Professor of Engineering and Renewable Energy

Carl Bickford
Department School of Science
Office Science - 1640
Hours See posted schedule
Phone 505-566-3503
Email bickfordc@sanjuancollege.edu

Degrees Received

  • BS Mechanical Engineering, Clarkson University, Potsdam, NY, 1990
  • MS Mechanical Engineering (Solar Thermal Design), Colorado State University, Fort. Collins, CO, 1994

Biography

Carl has been teaching classes at San Juan College for more than ten years. He started one of the first renewable energy training programs in the country in the fall of 2000. This successful program now draws students from all over the US and prepares them for interesting careers in this rapidly growing industry. Carl makes all his electricity at home from the Sun and uses some of that energy to build wooden boats. In addition to the electrical loads, his shop is heated with solar energy.

Courses Taught

  • RENG-220 PV Theory & System Design

Program Faculty

Vernon Willie
Vernon Willie
Interim Dean
williev@sanjuancollege.edu

Merrill Adams, Ph.D.
Merrill Adams, Ph.D.
Professor
adamsm@sanjuancollege.edu

Chris Baade
Chris Baade
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
baadec@sanjuancollege.edu


Jim Barnes
Jim Barnes
Assistant Professor of Physics
barnesj@sanjuancollege.edu

Michele Berkey
Michele Berkey
Associate Professor of Chemistry
berkeym@sanjuancollege.edu

John Burris
John Burris
Professor of Geology
burrisj@sanjuancollege.edu


Tamara Coombs
Tamara Coombs
Instructor of Math.
coombst@sanjuancollege.edu

Gordon DeSpain
Gordon DeSpain
Assistant Professor or Math
despaing@sanjuancollege.edu

Carrie Elledge
Carrie Elledge
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
elledgeca@sanjuancollege.edu


Dr. Veronica Evans
Dr. Veronica Evans
Associate Professor, Biology
evansv@sanjuancollege.edu

Russell Grahn
Russell Grahn
Assistant Professor of Biology
grahnr@sanjuancollege.edu

Amy Harden
Amy Harden
Biology Lab Manager
hardena@sanjuancollege.edu


Dr. Donna Hobbs
Dr. Donna Hobbs
Professor of Biology
hobbs@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Don Hyder
Dr. Don Hyder
Professor of Biology
hyderd@sanjuancollege.edu

Mark Johnson, Ph.D., P.E.
Mark Johnson, Ph.D., P.E.
Assistant Professor
johnsonma@sanjuancollege.edu


Jody Laughlin
Jody Laughlin
Assistant Professor, Math
laughlinj@sanjuancollege.edu

Jennifer Lewis
Jennifer Lewis
Assistant Professor of Biology
lewisj@sanjuancollege.edu

Kenneth Lillie
Kenneth Lillie
Instructor of Math
lilliek@sanjuancollege.edu


Kevin Lombard
Kevin Lombard
Science Instructor
lombardk@sanjuancollege.edu

David Mayeux
David Mayeux
Planetarium Coordinator
mayeuxd@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Eric Miller
Dr. Eric Miller
Professor of Chemistry
millere@sanjuancollege.edu


Lance Myler
Lance Myler
Assistant Professor of Biology
mylerl@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Pam Peters
Dr. Pam Peters
Assistant Professor of Math
petersp@sanjuancollege.edu

Vonda Rabuck
Vonda Rabuck
Assistant Professor of Math
rabuckv@sanjuancollege.edu


Lori Schiess
Lori Schiess
Instructor of Biology
schiessl@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Callie Vanderbilt
Dr. Callie Vanderbilt
Professor, Biology / Chemistry
vanderbi@sanjuancollege.edu

LuAnn Walton
LuAnn Walton
Assistant Professor of Math
waltonl@sanjuancollege.edu


Gerald Williams
Gerald Williams
Associate Professor of Math
williams@sanjuancollege.edu

Lisa Wurtz
Lisa Wurtz
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
wurtzl@sanjuancollege.edu


For more information, please call Vernon Willie at (505) 566-3306. Or send an email to williev@sanjuancollege.edu.