Carl Bickford — Professor of Engineering and Renewable Energy

Carl Bickford
Department School of Science
Office Science - 1640
Hours See posted schedule
Phone 505-566-3503
Email bickfordc@sanjuancollege.edu

Degrees Received

  • BS Mechanical Engineering, Clarkson University, Potsdam, NY, 1990
  • MS Mechanical Engineering (Solar Thermal Design), Colorado State University, Fort. Collins, CO, 1994

Biography

Carl has been working at San Juan College for more than 20 years. He coordinates the Engineering transfer program (AS in Engineering) as well as teaching several of the classes. He also started one of the first renewable energy training programs in the country in the fall of 2000 and it ran successfully for 15 yeras. Carl makes all his electricity at home (off the grid) from the Sun and uses some of that energy to build wooden boats. In addition to electrical loads, his shop is heated with solar energy.

Courses Taught

  • PHYS-121 Introduction to Physics
  • PHYS-121L Introduction to Physics - Lab
  • RENG-220 PV Theory & System Design
  • RENG-252 Passive Solar Design and Analysis
  • RENG-260 Solar Thermal Design & Application

Michael Ottinger
Michael Ottinger
Dean
ottingerm@sanjuancollege.edu

Angela Abeyta
Angela Abeyta
School Operations Coordinator
abeytaa@sanjuancollege.edu

Linda Goff
Linda Goff
Math & Science Part Time Admin
goffl@sanjuancollege.edu


Merrill Adams, Ph.D.
Merrill Adams, Ph.D.
Professor
adamsm@sanjuancollege.edu

Chris Baade
Chris Baade
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
baadec@sanjuancollege.edu

Jim Barnes
Jim Barnes
Assistant Professor of Physics
barnesj@sanjuancollege.edu


Michele Berkey
Michele Berkey
Associate Professor of Chemistry
berkeym@sanjuancollege.edu

John Burris
John Burris
Professor of Geology
burrisj@sanjuancollege.edu

Tamara Coombs
Tamara Coombs
Instructor of Math.
coombst@sanjuancollege.edu


Gordon DeSpain
Gordon DeSpain
Assistant Professor or Math
despaing@sanjuancollege.edu

Carrie Elledge
Carrie Elledge
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
elledgeca@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Veronica Evans
Dr. Veronica Evans
Associate Professor, Biology
evansv@sanjuancollege.edu


Russell Grahn
Russell Grahn
Assistant Professor of Biology
grahnr@sanjuancollege.edu

Amy Harden
Amy Harden
Biology Lab Manager
hardena@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Donna Hobbs
Dr. Donna Hobbs
Professor of Biology
hobbs@sanjuancollege.edu


Dr. Don Hyder
Dr. Don Hyder
Professor of Biology
hyderd@sanjuancollege.edu

Jody Laughlin
Jody Laughlin
Assistant Professor, Math
laughlinj@sanjuancollege.edu

Jennifer Lewis
Jennifer Lewis
Assistant Professor of Biology
lewisj@sanjuancollege.edu


Kenneth Lillie
Kenneth Lillie
Instructor of Math
lilliek@sanjuancollege.edu

Kevin Lombard
Kevin Lombard
Science Instructor
lombardk@sanjuancollege.edu

David Mayeux
David Mayeux
Planetarium Coordinator
mayeuxd@sanjuancollege.edu


Dr. Eric Miller
Dr. Eric Miller
Professor of Chemistry
millere@sanjuancollege.edu

Lance Myler
Lance Myler
Assistant Professor of Biology
mylerl@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Pam Peters
Dr. Pam Peters
Assistant Professor of Math
petersp@sanjuancollege.edu


Vonda Rabuck
Vonda Rabuck
Assistant Professor of Math
rabuckv@sanjuancollege.edu

Lori Schiess
Lori Schiess
Instructor of Biology
schiessl@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Callie Vanderbilt
Dr. Callie Vanderbilt
Professor, Biology / Chemistry
vanderbi@sanjuancollege.edu


LuAnn Walton
LuAnn Walton
Assistant Professor of Math
waltonl@sanjuancollege.edu

Gerald Williams
Gerald Williams
Associate Professor of Math
williams@sanjuancollege.edu

Vernon Willie
Vernon Willie
Associate Professor of Math
williev@sanjuancollege.edu


Lisa Wurtz
Lisa Wurtz
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
wurtzl@sanjuancollege.edu

Mark Johnson, Ph.D., P.E.
Mark Johnson, Ph.D., P.E.
Assistant Professor
johnsonma@sanjuancollege.edu


For more information, please call Dr. Michael Ottinger at (505) 566-3081. Or send an email to ottingerm@sanjuancollege.edu.