JD Tanner — Director

JD Tanner
Department Health and Human Performance Center
Office HHPC
Phone 505-566-3412
Email tannerj@sanjuancollege.edu
Website Facebook

Degrees Received

M.S. Ed in Recreation Administration - Southern Illinois University

B.S. in Outdoor Recreation - Southeast Missouri State University

Biography

JD is the Director of Recreation for the Health and Human Performance Center at San Juan College and has been leading outdoor adventure trips and teaching outdoor recreation courses for over 14 years.  He has a B.S. in Outdoor Recreation degree from Southeast Missouri State University and a M.S. Ed in Recreation Administration from Southern Illinois University in Carbondale.

JD is a former Leave No Trace Traveling Trainer for the Leave No Trace Center for Outdoor Ethics and was an instructor/trip leader at Southeast Missouri State University for six years before that.  JD also writes hiking guides for Falcon Guides, is a Certified Park and Recreation Professional, is a Wilderness First Responder, a certified AMGA Climbing Wall Instructor, a Level II Challenge Course Practioner, and is a certifying instructor for the Wilderness Education Association (WEA).  JD teaches Environmental Ethics, Expedition Backpacking, and International Mountaineering at San Juan College and enjoys bagging peaks, hiking long trails, highpointing, and spending time with his wife and dogs out on the trails.

 

Courses Taught


HHPC Staff

Cody Elledge
Cody Elledge

Director
elledgec@sanjuancollege.edu
505-566-3114
Carlton Downing
Carlton Downing

Coordinator of Facilities and Operations
downingc@sanjuancollege.edu
505-566-3819
Marcel Bieg
Marcel Bieg

Director, Outdoor Leadership Program
biegm@sanjuancollege.edu
505-566-3113
Susan Shipman
Susan Shipman

Member Services Specialist
shipmans@sanjuancollege.edu
505-566-3410
Jeri Sokolosky
Jeri Sokolosky

Facility Manager
sokoloskyj@sanjuancollege.edu
Kathryn Tafoya
Kathryn Tafoya

Member Services Specialist
tafoyak@sanjuancollege.edu
Christine Taylor
Christine Taylor

Part Time Facility Manager
taylorch@sanjuancollege.edu
505-566-3219
Jill Ward
Jill Ward

Facility Manager
wardji@sanjuancollege.edu
505-566-3219