School of Energy Directory and Contact Information

Mailing Address

San Juan College
School of Energy
4601 College Blvd.
Farmington, NM 87402

Physical Address

800 S. Hutton
Farmington, NM 87401

Telephone: (505) 327-5705, or Toll Free: (866) 426-1233

Click the name to Email unless otherwise noted, use (505) 327-5705
Roberts, Charlene Instructor, Safety 566-3890
Welch, Les Instructor, CDL 632-0619

Carl Bickford — Professor of Engineering and Renewable Energy

Carl Bickford
Department School of Science
Office Science - 1640
Hours See posted schedule
Phone 505-566-3503
Email bickfordc@sanjuancollege.edu

Degrees Received

  • BS Mechanical Engineering, Clarkson University, Potsdam, NY, 1990
  • MS Mechanical Engineering (Solar Thermal Design), Colorado State University, Fort. Collins, CO, 1994

Biography

Carl has been teaching classes at San Juan College for more than ten years. He started one of the first renewable energy training programs in the country in the fall of 2000. This successful program now draws students from all over the US and prepares them for interesting careers in this rapidly growing industry. Carl makes all his electricity at home from the Sun and uses some of that energy to build wooden boats. In addition to the electrical loads, his shop is heated with solar energy.

Courses Taught

  • RENG-220 PV Theory & System Design

Program Faculty

Mike Adams
Mike Adams
Adjunct Safety Instructor
adamsmi@sanjuancollege.edu

Jake Arellano
Jake Arellano
Operations Apprenticeship Instructor
arellanoj@sanjuancollege.edu

Phil Armenta
Phil Armenta
Well Control Instructor
armentap@sanjuancollege.edu


Mike Arnold
Mike Arnold
CDL Adjunct Instructor
arnoldm@sanjuancollege.edu

Susan Bair
Susan Bair
Petroleum Technolgy Adjunct Instructor
bairs@sanjuancollege.edu

Keith Bates
Keith Bates
CDL Instructor
batesk@sanjuancollege.edu


Aaron Beaty
Aaron Beaty
Safety Instructor
beatya@sanjuancollege.edu

Carl Bickford
Carl Bickford
Professor of Engineering and Renewable Energy
bickfordc@sanjuancollege.edu

Brenda Blevins
Brenda Blevins
School Operations Coordinator
blevinsb@sanjuancollege.edu


Tom  Burns
Tom Burns
Instructor of Industrial Process Operator
burnst@sanjuancollege.edu

Bill Burson
Bill Burson
IPOP Instructor
bursonb@sanjuancollege.edu

Nelson Cadava
Nelson Cadava
Adjunct Faculty - Safety Instructor
cadavan@sanjuancollege.edu


Chris Caine
Chris Caine
Assistant Professor
cainec@sanjuancollege.edu

Georgia Cortez
Georgia Cortez
Assistant Professor/OS Online Advisor
cortezg@sanjuancollege.edu

Steve Gerencser
Steve Gerencser
Instructor
gerencsers@sanjuancollege.edu


George R. Golombowski
George R. Golombowski
Process Technology Assistant Professor
golombowskig@sanjuancollege.edu

Rick Greenaker
Rick Greenaker
Instructor
greenakerr@sanjuancollege.edu

Dedi Greenfield
Dedi Greenfield
Accounting Technician
greenfieldd@sanjuancollege.edu


Tom Hudson
Tom Hudson
Safety Instructor
hudsont@sanjuancollege.edu

Jerry Huwe
Jerry Huwe
Petroleum Instructor
huwej@sanjuancollege.edu

Gary Jinks
Gary Jinks
Safety Instructor
jinksg@sanjuancollege.edu


Ray John
Ray John
Associate Professor
johnr@sanjuancollege.edu

Kenneth Johnson
Kenneth Johnson
Petroleum Technology Instructor
johnsonk@sanjuancollege.edu

Mark Johnson, Ph.D., P.E.
Mark Johnson, Ph.D., P.E.
Assistant Professor
johnsonma@sanjuancollege.edu


Keith Julian
Keith Julian
Adjunct Petroleum Technology Instructor
juliank@sanjuancollege.edu

Carmen King
Carmen King
Administrative Assistant
kingc@sanjuancollege.edu

Diana Lang
Diana Lang
Project Manager
lang@sanjuancollege.edu


Jos Lesscher
Jos Lesscher
Safety Instructor
lesscherj@sanjuancollege.edu

Mike Lindsay
Mike Lindsay
IPOP Instructor
lindsaym@sanjuancollege.edu

Ron Long
Ron Long
Natural Gas Compression Instructor
longr@sanjuancollege.edu


Pedro Marquez
Pedro Marquez
Safety Instructor
marquezp@sanjuancollege.edu

Lisa Martin
Lisa Martin
BP Program Coordinator
martinli@sanjuancollege.edu

Thomas Munson
Thomas Munson
Renewal Energy Coordinator
munsont@sanjuancollege.edu


Randy Oltmanns
Randy Oltmanns
Safety Instructor
oltmannsr@sanjuancollege.edu

Tony Otero
Tony Otero
Program Coordinator Process Technology
oterot@sanjuancollege.edu

Randy Pacheco
Randy Pacheco
Dean for School of Energy
pachecor@sanjuancollege.edu


M. Dean Patscheck
M. Dean Patscheck
Assistant Professor of Safety
patscheckd@sanjuancollege.edu

John Prather
John Prather
Safety Adjunct Instructor
pratherj@sanjuancollege.edu

Randy Randall
Randy Randall
Associate Professor/Coordinator
randallr@sanjuancollege.edu


Marie Ann Redenbach
Marie Ann Redenbach
Adminstrative Assistant
redenbachm@sanjuancollege.edu

Bryan Smiley
Bryan Smiley
CDL Instructor - Adjunct
smileyb@sanjuancollege.edu

Phillip 'Butch' Stavely
Phillip 'Butch' Stavely
Adjunct Petroleum Instructor
stavelyp@sanjuancollege.edu


Maury Tiehen
Maury Tiehen
Associate Professor/Coordinator
tiehenm@sanjuancollege.edu

Roger Tingley
Roger Tingley
Industrial Maint. Mechanic Instructor
tingleyr@sanjuancollege.edu

Kimberly Toward
Kimberly Toward
Admissions Support III
towardki@sanjuancollege.edu


Gary Whitaker
Gary Whitaker
Gas Compression Instructor
whitakerg@sanjuancollege.edu

James Wilcox
James Wilcox
Adjunct CDL Instructor
wilcoxj@sanjuancollege.edu


For more information, please call School of Energy at (505) 327-5705, or toll free, (866) 426-1233.