Automotive Service Educational Program

Vaughn Lewis — Automotive Instructor

Vaughn Lewis
Department Automotive / Trades and Technology
Office Automotive Rm 2306
Email lewisv@sanjuancollege.edu

Degrees Received

Industry Certifications:

  • ASE Master Certified Technician with L1 since 1983
  • GM World Class Certified
  • Associate Degree of Applied Science-Automotive Technology

Biography

Years Teaching:

3 years full time

Years in the Industry:

36 years

Industry Background:

I started working part time for the local Buick-GMC dealer in Farmington, NM while in high school in 1977. I attended SJC Automotive Area Vocational School from 1979 thru 1981 and worked as a lead tech at the dealership until 1992. In 1992, I moved to a Chevrolet dealership in Aztec, NM as shop foreman until leaving in 2011 to take a teaching position here at SJC. I was on the SJC Automotive Advisory Board for approximately 20 years and was dealership mentor for the SJC ASEP program since their rollout of the ASEP program.

Teaching Background:

In the 90's, I was contracted part time by the SJC automotive department to teach evening community automotive classes. That led to an opportunity to teach an evening ASEP class.  That was my introduction to teaching and planted the idea of someday teaching full time.  I have now been teaching here at SJC fulltime for 3 years.

What I Enjoy About Teaching:

As I watch a student develop skills and confidence, it is fulfilling to me, to know that they are on their way to a great career. I hope someday that, all of my students will be more successful, both personally and financially, than I ever have been.

 


Program Faculty

Kerry Meier
Kerry Meier
Automotive Technology Coordinator
meierk@sanjuancollege.edu

Jim Rooker
Jim Rooker
Automotive Instructor
rooker_j@sanjuancollege.edu

Jeff Schofield
Jeff Schofield
Associate Professor
schofieldj@sanjuancollege.edu


Bill Lewis
Bill Lewis
Dean
lewisw@sanjuancollege.edu

Doyle Purvis
Doyle Purvis
Automotive Recruiter
purvisd@sanjuancollege.edu

Ken Kernagis
Ken Kernagis
Recruiter-School of Trades and Technology
kernagis@sanjuancollege.edu


Vaughn Lewis
Vaughn Lewis
Automotive Instructor
lewisv@sanjuancollege.edu


For more information, please call Kerry Meier at 505-566-3388. Or send an email to meierk@sanjuancollege.edu.