Judith Palier, Dr. — Professor of Political Science

Judith Palier, Dr.
Department School of Humanities
Office Humanities - 1873
Phone 505-566-3656
Email palierj@sanjuancollege.edu
Website The World of Politics

Degrees Received

  • 1992 B.A., Political Science, University of Colorado - Denver
  • 1995 M.A., Political Science, University of New Mexico
  • 2000 Ph.D., Political Science, University of New Mexico
  • Specializations: Political Theory, Comparative Politics (Latin America)

Biography

I started out as a child in Chicago, Illinois, and I've been moving south and west ever since. My family moved to the St. Louis area when I was about eleven. As a young adult I moved to the Colorado Rockies, just west of Denver. After spending fifteen years in the Denver area, I moved to Albuquerque for graduate school in 1992. I came to San Juan College in 1999.

My main interest is travel, especially to other countries. So far I've been to Guatemala, Nicaragua, Mexico (many times), Cuba, England, Spain and Morocco.

Courses Taught

  • HMSV-298 HNRS:nonviolence:theory
  • PHIL-298 HNRS: Nonviolence: Theory
  • POLS-110 Intro to Political Science

Program Faculty

Allan D. Nass
Allan D. Nass
Dean
nassa@sanjuancollege.edu

Eric Bateman
Eric Bateman
Writing Program Administrator
batemane@sanjuancollege.edu

Tony Bennett
Tony Bennett
Photography Instructor
bennettt@sanjuancollege.edu


Dr. David Bramhall
Dr. David Bramhall
Professor of History and Philosophy
bramhalld@sanjuancollege.edu

Andrea Cooper, PhD.
Andrea Cooper, PhD.
Associate Professor of Anthropology
cooperan@sanjuancollege.edu

Linda Edwards
Linda Edwards
Associate Professor of Music
edwardsl@sanjuancollege.edu


Donald Ellis
Donald Ellis
Associate Professor of Ceramics
ellisdo@sanjuancollege.edu

Andrea Ericksen, Dr.
Andrea Ericksen, Dr.
Professor of Psychology
ericksena@sanjuancollege.edu

William Hatch
William Hatch
Professor of Arts
hatchb@sanjuancollege.edu


Kate Fulton
Kate Fulton
Assistant Professor of Psychology
fulton_k@sanjuancollege.edu

William Gray
William Gray
Assistant Professor of English/Writing
grayw@sanjuancollege.edu

Traci Halesvass
Traci Halesvass
Assistant Professor of English/Writing
halesvasst@sanjuancollege.edu


Michael Hattabaugh, Dr.
Michael Hattabaugh, Dr.
Assistant Professor of Communication
hattabaughm@sanjuancollege.edu

Judy Hudson
Judy Hudson
Director of Early Childhood Education
hudsonj@sanjuancollege.edu

Kris Kraly
Kris Kraly
Assistant Professor of English
kralyk@sanjuancollege.edu


Judith Palier, Dr.
Judith Palier, Dr.
Professor of Political Science
palierj@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Janet L. Peterson
Dr. Janet L. Peterson
Professor of English
petersonj@sanjuancollege.edu

Elizabeth Phelps
Elizabeth Phelps
Reading Instructor
phelpse@sanjuancollege.edu


J. Kelly Robison
J. Kelly Robison
Professor of History
robisonk@sanjuancollege.edu

Terry Swan, Dr.
Terry Swan, Dr.
Associate Professor of Sociology
swant@sanjuancollege.edu

Kari Deswood
Kari Deswood
English Instructor
deswoodk@sanjuancollege.edu


Lorraine Manavi
Lorraine Manavi
Assistant Professor Navajo Language
manavil@sanjuancollege.edu

Hannah Rankin
Hannah Rankin
English Instructor
rankinh@sanjuancollege.edu

Dr. Alicia Skipper
Dr. Alicia Skipper
Assistant Professor of English
skippera@sanjuancollege.edu


Michael Thompson
Michael Thompson
Coordinator of Alternative Licensure/Site Director Bisti Writing Project
thompsonm@sanjuancollege.edu

Chris Strouthopoulos
Chris Strouthopoulos
Associate Professor for Student Success
strouthc@sanjuancollege.edu

Sherri Cummins-Black
Sherri Cummins-Black
Assistant Professor of Student Success
cumminss@sanjuancollege.edu


Mollie Mook-Fiddler
Mollie Mook-Fiddler
Theater Instructor
mookfiddlerm@sanjuancollege.edu

Dawn Myers
Dawn Myers
Assistant Professor for Human Services
myersd@sanjuancollege.edu

Ana Sawyer
Ana Sawyer
Adjunct Faculty - Spanish
sawyera@sanjuancollege.edu


Annette Tidwell Abend
Annette Tidwell Abend
Instructor of English
tidwellabenda@sanjuancollege.edu


For more information, please call School of Humanities at (505) 566-3276.