SJC Clubs and Organizations

San Juan College offers a variety of clubs and organizations for the students of San Juan College. Have a Club Idea? We can help you to get the ball rolling. It’s fun and a great way to participate in an extracurricular activity while pursuing your own interests and meeting people who share it. Students are encouraged to become involved in any of the following organizations in which they may be interested.

A.G.A.V.E (All Great Accomplishments Value Equality)
The purpose of the A.G.A.V.E. (All Great Accomplishments Value Equality) Club is to share Hispanic and Latino culture with San Juan College and the community. The club collaborates with the Hispanic Latino Center in various events such as Hispanic Heritag
Advisor: Cruz Chacon Ext: 3317 Email: chaconc@sanjuancollege.edu
AISES (American Indian Science & Engineering Society)  [website]
Promote Native Americans to participate in Science and Engineering. Promote STEM on campus, outreach to communities, build batter relationships with faculty.
Advisor: Clarissa Bowman Ext: 3313 Email: bowmanc@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Ceceilia Tso Ext: 3343 Email: tsoc@sanjuancollege.edu
All Nations United Club
To promote the sharing of cultural across campus.
Advisor: Michele Peterson Ext: 3363 Email: petersonm@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Shannon Benally Ext: 3321 Email: benallysm@sanjuancollege.edu
Cosmetology VICA Skills USA
To create a better cosmetology workforce.
Advisor: Nikki Roddy Ext: 4249 Email: roddyn@sanjuancollege.edu
Doulos
Provising a community oriented study space for students at SJC.
Advisor: Denise Lakey Ext: 3213 Email: lakeyd@sanjuancollege.edu
EDGE CLUB  [website]
To provide student services to qualifying students.
Advisor: Sarah Whittier Ext: 3169 Email: whittiers@sanjuancollege.edu
ENCORE
TO promote ENCORE program though service projects, classes and public relations.
Advisor: Brenda Goodnight Ext: 3803 Email: goodnightb@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Robyn Holmes Ext: 3293 Email: holmesr@sanjuancollege.edu
Geeks & Gamers
Provide students activities and promote geeky in all force.
Advisor: Nicholas Michael Ext: 3395 Email: michaeln@sanjuancollege.edu
Latter-Day Saints Student Associates (LDSSA)  [website]
To provide activities for all students within the guidelines of the Church.
Advisor: Dr. Beverlee Rice Ext: 3239 Email: riceb@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Tamara Coombs Ext: 3604 Email: coombst@sanjuancollege.edu
Medical Lab Technician Club of San Juan College
To provide resources and support for those students accepted in to, and those interested in the program.
Advisor: Mary Doshi Ext: 3855 Email: doshim@sanjuancollege.edu
Native American Leadership Association
To promote and encourage Native American students to pursue leadership opportunities
Advisor: Michele Peterson Ext: 3363 Email: petersonm@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Shannon Benally Ext: 3321 Email: benallysm@sanjuancollege.edu
Native InterVarsity
To provide Native American students an opportunity to laugh together, love traditions, people, and Jesus
Advisor: Seth Abrahamson Ext: 3326 Email: abrahamsons@sanjuancollege.edu
Parents & Educators Club
Advisor: Judy Hudson Ext: 3246 Email: hudsonj@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Mary Schumacher-Hoerner Ext: 3383 Email: shoernerm@sanjuancollege.edu
Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)  [website]
The National Honor Society of 2-year colleges.
Advisor: Sherri Cummins Ext: 3104 Email: cumminss@sanjuancollege.edu
Physical Therapy Club (PTASA)  [website]
To promote physical therapy.
Advisor: Mr. Gayle W. Hill Ext: 3013 Email: hillw@sanjuancollege.edu
Polyology Club
Club for all sciences
Advisor: Don Hyder Ext: 3772 Email: hyderd@sanjuancollege.edu
Psychology Club/Psi Beta
Support academic, leadership, & service development with psychology students.
Advisor: Andrea Erickson Ext: 3359 Email: ericksona@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Kate Fulton Ext: 3235 Email: fultonk@sanjuancolleg.edu
Rock Climbing Club
Provides members of SJC to learn about rock climbing
Advisor: Christopher Keating Ext: 3414 Email: keatingc@sanjuancollege.edu
SJC Legalize Cannabis Now Club
Educate everyone about the advantages and disadvantages of legalizing marijuana on keeping it legal.
Advisor: Gordon DeSpain Ext: 3769 Email: despaing@sanjuancollege,edu
SJC Newman Club
to bring a community full of prayer and service
Advisor: Lynn Lane Ext: 3304 Email: lanel@sanjuancollege.edu
Society for Advancement of Hispanic/ Chicanos & Native Americans in Science (SACNAS)
Society of scientists dedicated to fostering the success of college students to professional to advance degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in science
Advisor: Clarissa Bowman Ext: 3313 Email: bowmanc@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Veronica Evans Ext: 3298 Email: evansv@sanjuancollege.edu
Student American Dental Hygenist Association (SADHA)
To empower, support, and develop professionals by providing mentoring, informational resume, scholarships and grants.
Advisor: Sherri Paxton Ext: 3138 Email: paxtons@sanjuancollege.edu
Student Nurses Association (SNA)  [website]
To provide opportunities for student nurses at SJC to help each other.
Advisor: Patricia Tomaskovic Ext: 3324 Email: tomaskovicp@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Marsha Bouchard Ext: 3222 Email: nouchardm@sanjuancollege.edu
The National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS)  [website]
Advisor: Marcia Sterling-Penn Ext: 3588 Email: sterling@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Christopher Keating Ext: 3414 Email: keatingc@sanjuancollege.edu
Advisor: Lisa Zenno Ext: 3212 Email: zennor@sanjuancolleg.edu
Veterans Club
to provide support and awareness for Veterans and dependents at San Juan College
Advisor: David Drake Ext: 3970 Email: draked@sanjuancollege.edu

Clubs Listed: 25

Get Involved!

For more information or to offer suggestions, contact Student Activities:
505-566-3403 ~ getinvolved@sanjuancollege.edu
Or drop by Room 6107, in the Learning Commons, under the library.