Faculty members receive highest academic ranking at San Juan College

The energy sculpture is shown in the foreground with the clocktower building in the background.

San Juan College President Emeritus Dr. James C. Henderson’s dedication to excellence continues to live on through an award established in his honor – The Henderson Teaching Excellence Award.

San Juan College President Dr. Toni Hopper Pendergrass created this award in 2018 as a tribute to Henderson’s leadership and to honor faculty who have earned the highest academic rank that can be achieved at San Juan College. Dr. Henderson served as the President of San Juan College from 1982 until 2002 and Chancellor Emeritus until his passing in March of 2020.

Dr. Pendergrass recognized this year’s recipients at the October 2022 San Juan College Board of Trustees meeting. Each faculty member received a medallion to be worn at graduation as a public demonstration of their achievement. This year’s recipients include: Matthew Bell, Associate Professor in School of Math, Science and Engineering; Richardyna Christie, Associate Professor for School of Humanities; Marc Dziak, Associate Professor for School of Humanities; Karen Krob, Associate Professor for School of Business, Information Technology & Social Sciences; Hannah Rankin, Associate Professor for School of Humanities and Lori Schiess, Professor for School of Math, Science and Engineering.

“The Henderson Teaching Excellence Award pays tribute to Dr. Henderson’s leadership and his legacy of excellence,” says President Pendergrass. “Each of these instructors have a passion for learning, a commitment to excellence in teaching and are dedicated to our students’ success.”