The San Juan College Foundation recently presented the Tarpley Awards to faculty who have shown a commitment to excellence in the classroom, to students and to San Juan College.

Tarpley Award Recipients of San Juan College sitting in a group posed for a photo.

Mr. Wayne Tarpley passed away in December 2012, but his generosity and recognition of teaching excellence continues through his trust. The son of a teacher, Mr. Tarpley considered faculty to be part of his extended family and the heart of society.

The award carries a stipend of $1,000 for each full-time faculty member and $800 for each adjunct faculty member. Each spring the San Juan College Foundation will continue to honor Mr. Tarpley’s wishes with gratitude.

This year, 20 full-time and 6 adjunct faculty members received a Tarpley Award.

School of Business, Information Technology & Social Sciences: Kate Fulton, Karen Krob and 
Craig Stern
School of Energy: Michael Lindsay, Ivan Ward and Daniel Yazzie
School of Health Sciences: Dr. Laura Black, Deborah Honstad, Kristina Lacey, Gregory McCarty, 
Lydell Powell, Jennifer Slough and Patty Blackwater
School of Humanities: Eric Bateman, Dr. Andrea Cooper, Johnathan Fisher, Hannah Rankin, 
Dr. Kelly Robison, and Shannon Lynch
School of Science, Math, & Engineering: Matthew Bell, Dr. John Burris, Curtis Elifritz, 
Genevieve Hiltebrand, Dr. Gerald Williams and Lisa Goodrich
School of Trades and Technology: Ashley Childers